Washington, DC Chapter

Job Hunting and Career Growth: an #SLAtalk!

Job Hunting and Career Growth: an #SLAtalk!

Join your SLA colleagues for a Twitter chat about job hunting and career growth on Tuesday, March 5th.  Tag your Tweets with #SLAtalk to be a part of the conversation!

http://slablogger.typepad.com/sla_blog/2013/02/job-hunting-and-career-growth-an-slatalk.html

SLA’s first Twitter chat of 2013 will focus on finding a job, and growing within that role.

Tune-in to enjoy tips from both colleagues and SLA’s vendor partners.

Two sessions will be held so information professionals across the globe can participate at a convenient time.

When:

Tuesday, March 5th

  • Session #1 at 18:30 GMT (1:30 pm Eastern / 10:30 am Pacific)
  • Session #2 at 00:00 GMT (7:00 pm Eastern / 4:00 pm Pacific)

[Need time zone help? Go to http://time.is/compare]

Questions to answer:

  1. What’s a successful job hunting method that helped you land you your current job?
  2. What’s a profession-specific way you’ve prepared for an interview that worked for you?
  3. What are key organizational traits you look for during an interview or online job search?
  4. How did you empower yourself to move ahead at your job? or what skills did you learn which led to your career growth?

…or ask your own question/share your own idea related to this topic!

Hashtag:

Tag your answers with #SLAtalk and the number of the question you’re answering.

For those wondering, #SLAchat is now used by the fine folks at Sporting Life Arkansas.

Start thinking with some light reading ahead of time:

Networking for Introverts,” from the March/April ’12 issue of Information Outlook

Future Now: Operation Agility,” from the Jan/Feb ’12 issue of Information Outlook

Dressing Like We Mean It,” from the March ’11 issue of Information Outlook

Not an SLA member? To access these articles, join SLA, or contact us to receive temporary access.

Following the session:

Check back into this SLA Blog post after the #SLAtalk, where we’ll post some of the best ideas that you all have tweeted. Notice your tweet being favorited from @SLAhq? You’re handle and tweet will be posted here!

Leave a Reply

Social Media Directory

DC/SLA Events via Email!

FBFPowered by ®Google Feedburner

DC/SLA Tweets

Photos on flickr

Archives